Tuesday, June 1, 2010

I am feeling very very very lazy and naughty at the moment for neglecting this blog that I was so excited about starting. I am going to make a conscious effort from now on to update it more regularly. I say more regularly because the fact of the matter is I probably won't update it as regularly as I would like too. It's not that I'm so busy and I just can't find the time to do it. If that were the case I wouldn't be watching masterchef every night. The truth is I'm totally and completely bored at the moment and that is exactly what I have been repeatedly telling my friends, my colleagues and my boyfriend. So why can't I update this blog? The answer is the same as the answer to many questions in my life. Why can't I start that new book? Why can't I start getting up at 6am to go for a run? Why can't I get all my work done? Why am I finding it easy to waste all my time with mindless tasks that reap no reward? The answer is simple and it is a word that has stuck with me since high school, and that word is- procrastination. Everybody does it and nobody really talks about it. It's like being a part of a secret society that is neither cool or constructive and as I said earlier has no reward. So why do we procrastinate? My answer, like most people's is that it is the easy option out of most situations that require one to actually make an effort. This blog for example is not something that I absolutely, 100% have to do, so it's much much harder to motivate myself to do it. Like an old university assignment that gets left to the last minute, this blog floats around in the back of my head constantly, making me feel bad for not writing a post. And like that old Uni assignment every time I sit down to work on it I get distracted with something else. Between participating in a spot of online shopping, looking at blogs, checking the weather or even updating my other blogs, I can't seem to find the time to update this particular blog. It seems that the moment I feel bad enough about this and decide it's time to start a new post, I realise its midnight and I'm half way through a thrilling episode of True Blood (Damn Eric is hot, I think to myself!) and I'm better off going to bed as I have to get up at 6am for the run...... let's be honest that run is not going to happen but I'll keep setting my alarm for 6am nonetheless. I guess it's time to change this bad habit and try to change I will. I can't promise everyday updates. But I can promise that I will try and get rid of that word procrastination. It's such an annoying word anyway so who needs it. Not me anymore!

1 comment: